Yvonne Smith A M Charitable Trust Scholarship Logo

Enabling academic excellence in young New Zealand women

Yvonne traveling through Europe in 1953

Yvonne traveling
through Europe in 1953

“I admire the way New Zealand women can hold their own with other leaders on the world stage. I want to foster the education of the next generation of leaders.

 Education is the precursor to encouraging respect and understanding of others to achieve outcomes superior to what we’ve known before”

The Scholarship

The Yvonne Smith scholarship fund was set up in 1999 to encourage and promote women as future leaders of New Zealand business and society. The value of the scholarship may be as high as $65,000, which compares with the Fulbright and Rhodes scholarships. It is open to women undertaking post-graduate studies in subject areas of political studies, economics, business and law. The scholarship can also be held in conjunction with other awards.


The scholarship is awarded to the candidate who best exemplifies potential leadership in her field as well as demonstrating the potential to make a significant contribution to New Zealand.

Julia van Eeden

Master of Business Administration
University of Amsterdam

2022 Scholarship Winner

The Trustees of the Yvonne A M Smith Charitable Trust are pleased to announce that the winner of the 2022 scholarship is Julia van Eeden.

An undergraduate engineer from Invercargill working at the Tiwai point aluminium smelter. The scholarship will assist in enabling Julia to go to the University of Amsterdam to complete an Executive MBA.

Julia is passionate about developing high-performing teams in order to challenge businesses to make sound environmental decisions that will continue to give Julia a great source of fulfilment in her career.

Dr Rennie Qin

2021 – Master of Public Health in Global Health / Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health , USA

Jinny Leong

2021 – Master of Philosophy in Economics / University of Cambridge, England

Xavier Black

2020 – PHD in Public Policy / University of Oxford, England